365 Days of Women Writers

Women writers only – no boys allowed

The Ground Rules

with one comment

I started getting the idea for this project when I was reading yet another blog post about how there were only male names on an anthology book cover and I thought to myself fuck this shit. I’ve read plenty of books by men in my lifetime and it’s about time I went cold turkey. I need to detoxing from all the Updike, Irving, Roth, Franzen, etc. I’ve read in the past.

So here’s what it’s all about in a nutshell:

1. Read only published[1] books and stories by women for a year.

2. Write about it here.

Easy peasy. I start tomorrow. See you then.

[1] I’ve put the published qualifier on there because I do have writer type friends who I sometimes read things in draft and I’m not going to stop doing that.

Written by Chance

September 17, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wonderful plan. I admit to reading some men although the majority of my reading is books by women. I wish you all the best and will closely follow your progress. Please feel free to visit my blog esp for fiction by African and Caribbean women writers

    Kinna

    September 23, 2010 at 10:58 am


Leave a Reply

