365 Days of Women Writers

Women writers only – no boys allowed

Day 41: Soulless, Changeless, and Blameless by Gail Carriger

leave a comment »

One lesson I really need to learn is that just because some is good, it doesn’t mean that more is better. There are times when there’s that nagging little voice that tells me that (at least for me) the concept is going to be played out after one book. (see also: Temeraire and Sorcery and Cecelia)

Soulless is the love child of urban fantasy, steam punk and comedy of manners. (hey it’s a book, it can have three parents). I was intrigued when I heard about the story open where Alexia is attacked by a vampire when they weren’t properly introduced, and worse, he didn’t even know that she didn’t have a soul so he couldn’t bite her anyway. I thought it sounded like a heck of a lot of fun.

And it was. Oh, there were the warning signs that I should have quit while I was ahead like the very predictable plotting and the use of overly silly names for characters and the repeated references to how Alexia was half-Italian and that society looked down on her for that (when no one actually does). Because it was fun and funny and not afraid to take the piss put of the genres it was playing with.

But like I said, I should have quit with one. All the things that bugged me in the first book bugged me times a million in the other two. Oh well, maybe next time I will learn.

Written by Chance

October 29, 2010 at 12:42 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

