365 Days of Women Writers

Women writers only – no boys allowed

Interim report on the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin

leave a comment »

I picked this up at a Christmas dinner over the weekend and started reading on the train home. I’m a bit surprised at how much praise this book has been receiving. (I forget who suggested she was getting paid by the asterisk, but I see what they mean.)

Anyway, I’m mostly posting because I’m pretty sure Jemisin just telegraphed the ending when has Yeine refer to people as “mortals” and of course shortly after we find out she shares a soul with a god. Which pretty much means that I can expect the climax of the book to involve her becoming the dead goddess Enefa.

Which doesn’t sound all that interesting to me. (I shall hold out hope Yeine will become the goddess sooner rather than later and the do some goddess ass-kicking. Probably won’t happen because I’ve heard the second half of the book Yeine getting a lot of nookie.)

Written by Chance

December 6, 2010 at 8:31 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

