365 Days of Women Writers

Women writers only – no boys allowed

It’s Christmas Time

leave a comment »

And if you are anything like me, you probably have been scrambling for ideas on what to get people for Christmas. So this year, why not get your loved ones some books by women? Here’s a few of my favorites:

Shirley Jackson has long been on of my favorite writers and one of the things I love about her writing is that she writes to the correct damn length (modern novels are so bloated.) Which is why I want to highlight her two masterpiece short novels – The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle. You’ve probably read them already, but they are definitely worth passing on to someone else.

I’ve always wished that I lived while Jackson was publishing so I could experience the discovery of her work as she was writing. And I bet you do too. So run, don’t walk and buy M. Rickert’s two short story collections. She is the writer you want to say in twenty years that you were reading now. Trust me, you won’t be sorry.

Kelly Link is one of those unique voices that comes along once in a generation. (And spawns masses of imitators – far too many imitators.) For my money, her first collection is the one you want. Her later ones are more polished, but I think this one shines for the sheer raw genius.

One of my favorite childhood memories is watching The French Chef on Channel 2. I think I started watching because my aunt liked it, but there was something mesmerizing about Julia Child, vibrant and alive like few people are. I didn’t know what a hollandaise sauce was, but watching her, I wanted some. I think it is hard to understate her influence on American cooking. (Heck, she basically invented the TV cooking show.) None of these are fiction, but I make the rules and you won’t go wrong buying any of them.

I was surprised when I learned the author of I Capture the Castle was also the author of 101 Dalmatians. I’ll admit I’m not familiar with her other writing, but even with these two books, it’s a hell of a legacy.

Ok, more later.

Written by Chance

December 19, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

